rating-2_5 (3)

 

 

Overview: While in Chicago, my fiancé and I decided to drive up to the University of Wisconsin-Madison. I’ve never been to Wisconsin and my fiancé hasn’t gone back to visit since he graduated. So, we thought it would be a fun day trip! On our way there, we stopped at the Green Owl Cafe, which happens to be the only vegetarian and vegan restaurant in Madison. So, of course we had to pay a visit!

Menu: The Green Owl Cafe offers a variety of food options to choose from such as nachos, quesadillas, salads, sandwiches, and pasta dishes. We tried the Sesame-Peanut Noodles which consisted of peanut sauce with sautéed carrots, broccoli and red peppers, topped with chopped peanuts and scallions. We also tried the Campanelle Pasta with Alfredo that had a cashew-based cream sauce with sautéed broccoli, carrots and peas. I have to be honest. I was a little disappointed because both dishes had very little flavor. I wasn’t amazed by the food at all. Looking back, I wish I would’ve tried one of their desserts to determine whether those were any good.

Favorite Item(s): I really don’t have a favorite item for this place. Based on this one experience, I can’t say I like any of their dishes.

Rating: As much as I love to support all vegan restaurants, I do think they should definitely experiment with their menu items to give them more depth. Also, I couldn’t believe how small the portions were. I do have to say that their service was good. I wish I could give this place another try, but I was only visiting for one day. Anyway, I’d still give this place a thumbs up for spreading the vegan message :)

Times visited: 1

Address: 1970 Atwood Ave, Madison, WI, 53704

Hours: Mon Closed, Tues-Sat 11am-9pm, Sun 10am-3pm

IMG_1404
(Sesame-Peanut Noodles & Stir-fried Vegetables)
IMG_1405
(Campanelle Pasta with Alfredo Sauce)
