rating-3_5 (3)

 

 

Overview: We stopped here last weekend on our way to the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach. It was our second visit because I felt I needed another visit to put this review together. This place is very interesting, I love the way everything is laid out. There’s a lot of art on the walls, cool light fixtures, and a comfortable couch to lounge at.

Menu: Ahimsa Vegan Cafe offers nutritious vegan food with organic ingredients. They have their own farm in Escondido, which is where they get most of their produce from. Their menu includes wraps, tacos, salads, bowls, burgers, spring rolls, and juices/smoothies. The Fiesta Bowl had a great mix of flavors and was so filling. I was excited to try their samosas but they were all out of them, so we went with the Pakoras (vegetable fritters served with a side of chutney) instead, which were okay. Also, the almond gravy on the Ahimsa Bowl was quite tasty.

Favorite Item: The Ahimsa Burger is definitely my favorite. It has a house-made veggie patty with tomato, avocado, sprouts, vegan mozzarella, grilled mushrooms, stone ground mustard, ketchup & vegan mayo. It has so many different layers and that’s what makes it delicious.

Rating: Aside from the beautiful art decorations, there was nothing else that made this place memorable. There were certainly some food items that I really enjoyed but I wouldn’t drive out to Long Beach to eat here. If you’re in the area though, I suggest you give this place a try. Also, I’ve read a few negative yelp reviews about the service here. In both of my experiences, I thought the service was okay. I had no complaints.

Times visited: 2

Address: 34o E 4th St, Long Beach, CA, 90802

Hours: Mon-Sun 11am-8pm

Find Menu Here: http://longbeachvegan.com/menu/

Pita Chips & Organic Hummus
(Pita Chips & Organic Hummus)
Pakoras
(Pakoras)
Ahimsa Burger??
(Ahimsa Burger)
Ahimsa Bowl
(Ahimsa Bowl)
BLT with avocado
(BLT w/ Avocado)
Fiesta Bowl
(Fiesta Bowl)
Apple Pie w/ Vanilla Ice Cream???
(Apple Pie w/ Vanilla Ice Cream)
Cool Chalk Design
(Chalk Design)
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
(Couch + Cool Painting)
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
(More Art)

 

