After many weeks of late night study sessions and coffee runs, I finally finished finals week and this semester is officially over. It went by very quickly, but I am really looking forward to relaxing and spending time with family.

Anyway, I made this posole for thanksgiving. I really enjoyed it so I decided to share this recipe with you all. I haven’t had posole for almost 2 years! I’ve been putting it off because it seemed like a very complicated process. This is so easy, I promise you won’t regret making this!

For this recipe, I used WestSoy’s chicken-style seitan. I don’t have a lot of experience cooking with fake meat. I thought this one was okay and my family members seemed to enjoy it. Let me know what you’re favorite meat substitutes are. I’d love to know.

Happy holidays!

Ingredients:

  • 4 quarts water
  • 1 large (96 ounce) can Juanita’s hominy, drained & rinsed
  • 1 head garlic, unpeeled
  • Salt
  • 7 dried guajillo chiles
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 onion, peeled
  • 2 (8 ounce) packages WestSoy chicken-style seitan, cubed

Garnishes:

  • cabbage, thinly sliced
  • lime, quartered
  • red radishes, thinly sliced
  • onion, chopped
  • tostada shells

Directions:

  1. In a large stockpot, add hominy, water, unpeeled head garlic and a tablespoon of salt. Set on heat and bring to a boil.
  2. In a medium bowl, soak the guajillo chiles in warm water for about 30 minutes (or until soft). Remove stems and seeds. (You’ll be left with only the skins of the chiles.)
  3. Prepare the red sauce by adding the chiles, clove of garlic, teaspoon of salt, and oregano in a blender. Then pour the sauce into the stockpot by using a strainer. (This might take some time, you can use water from the stockpot and pour it over the red sauce to thin it out.)
  4. Add the chicken-style seitan. Remove garlic head and add half onion. Cook for about an hour. Taste and add more salt or oregano if needed.
  5. Serve in bowls, add garnishes, and enjoy!

image1

